Navigation

The Legal and Liability Committee facilitates the sharing of knowledge relating to legal issues that have the potential to impact on risk management and the contractual situation of all stakeholders in the maritime industry. Its members consider that sharing legal information and knowledge with all those involved in the management of marine and transport risks is vital and must be further developed in all markets.

More knowledge of legal principles and liability regimes is required to facilitate and develop the risk analysis which frames international trade and transport, and which is part of the contractual relationship between all the stakeholders investing in the global economy and transport. Having more influence on legal and liability issues is the best way to bring more certainty for those who face transport and maritime threats.

Frédéric DenèfleLegal & Liability Committee Chair 

fdenefle@garex.fr

Phone +33 1 53 96 50 39

GAREX 9, rue de Téhéran 75008 Paris France

Chris JonesSecretary 

chris.jones@iua.co.uk

Phone +44 20 7617 5447

International Underwriting Association (IUA) London Underwriting Center 3 Minster Court, Mincing Lane London EC3R 7DD United Kingdom

Andrew Bardot 

andrew.bardot@internationalgroup.org.uk

Phone +44 207 929 8061

International Group of P&I Clubs Peek House 20 Eastcheap London EC3M 1EB United Kingdom

Howard Burnell 

Howard.Burnell@apollounderwriting.com

Phone +44 20 3169 1957

Apollo Syndicate Management Ltd 1 Bishopsgate London EC2N 3AQ United Kingdom

Charles Fernandez 

Charles.Fernandez@canopius.com

Phone +44 207337 3783

Canopius Insurance Gallery 9, One Lime Street London, EC3M 7HA United Kingdom

Nazmy Hussein 

nazmy@misrins.com.eg

Phone +202 27918230

Misrins 7 Abdel Latif Boltia St. P.O.Box 950 Cairo Egypt

Dirk Maes 

dirk.maes@eu.rsagroup.com

Phone +32 475 500 451

RSAI plc Antwerp Office Uitbreidingstraat 66 2060 Antwerpen Belgium

Mitsuhiro Miyamoto 

MMiyamoto2@sjnk.co.jp

Phone +81 3 3349 3884

Sompo Japan Nipponkoa Insurance Inc 26-1, Nishi-Shinjuku 1 Chome Shinjuku-ku Tokyo 160-8338 Japan

Brian Murphy 

bmurphy@berkleyoffshore.com

Phone +1 212 618 2950

Berkley Offshore Underwriting Managers 757 Third Avenue, 10th floor 10017 New York USA

Håkan NyströmPolitical Forum Liaison 

hakan.nystrom@aig.com

Phone +46 8 506 920 81

AIG P.O. Box 3206 104 69 Stockholm Sweden

Dr. Alberto Olivari 

alberto_olivari@swissre.com

Swiss Re International SE Piazza De Ferrari 4 Genova Italy

Lars RhodinExecutive Committee Liaison 

lars.rhodin@swedishclub.com

Phone +46 31 638 417

The Swedish Club P.O. Box 171 401 22 Göteborg Sweden

Roar Sanden 

roar.sanden@norclub.no

Phone +47 55 55 95 73

Norwegian Hull Club Olav Kyrresgate 11 5014 Bergen Norway

Professor Dr. Dieter Schwampe 

d.schwampe@da-pa.com

Phone +49 40 31 77 970

Dabelstein & Passehl Grosse Elbstrasse 36 22767 Hamburg Germany