Navigation

The Legal and Liability Committee facilitates the sharing of knowledge relating to legal issues that have the potential to impact on risk management and the contractual situation of all stakeholders in the maritime industry. Its members consider that sharing legal information and knowledge with all those involved in the management of marine and transport risks is vital and must be further developed in all markets.

More knowledge of legal principles and liability regimes is required to facilitate and develop the risk analysis which frames international trade and transport, and which is part of the contractual relationship between all the stakeholders investing in the global economy and transport. Having more influence on legal and liability issues is the best way to bring more certainty for those who face transport and maritime threats.

Charles FernandezLegal & Liability Committee Chair 

Charles.Fernandez@canopius.com

Phone +44 207337 3783

Canopius Insurance Gallery 9, One Lime Street London, EC3M 7HA United Kingdom

Brian MurphyVice Chair 

bmurphy@berkleyoffshore.com

Phone +1 212 618 2950

Berkley Offshore Underwriting Managers 757 Third Avenue, 10th floor 10017 New York USA

Chris JonesSecretary 

chris.jones@iua.co.uk

Phone +44 20 7617 5447

International Underwriting Association (IUA) London Underwriting Center 1 Minster Court, Mincing Lane London EC3R 7AA United Kingdom

Frédéric Becard 

frederic.becard@axaxl.com

Phone +33 156 92 91 38

AXA XL Immeuble JAVA 61 rue Mstislav Rostropovitch 75832 Paris Cedex 17 France

Howard Burnell 

Howard.Burnell@apollounderwriting.com

Phone +44 20 3169 1957

Apollo Syndicate Management Ltd 1 Bishopsgate London EC2N 3AQ United Kingdom

Tim Howse 

tim.howse@gard.no

Phone +44 2074447256

Gard UK Limited 4th floor, 7 Bishopsgate London, EC2N 3AR UK

Nazmy Hussein 

nazmy@misrins.com.eg

Phone +202 27918230

Misrins 7 Abdel Latif Boltia St. P.O.Box 950 Cairo Egypt

Dirk Maes 

dirk.maes@eu.rsagroup.com

Phone +32 475 500 451

RSAI plc Antwerp Office Uitbreidingstraat 66 2060 Antwerpen Belgium

Michael McKennaExecutive Committee Liaison 

Michael.mckenna@thehartford.com

Phone +001 212-613-4356

The Hartford 1 Penn Plaza New York, NY 10119 USA

Mitsuhiro Miyamoto 

MMiyamoto2@sjnk.co.jp

Phone +81 3 3349 3884

Sompo Japan Nipponkoa Insurance Inc 26-1, Nishi-Shinjuku 1 Chome Shinjuku-ku Tokyo 160-8338 Japan

Håkan NyströmPolicy Forum Liaison 

hakan.nystrom@aig.com

Phone +46 8 506 920 81

AIG P.O. Box 3206 104 69 Stockholm Sweden

Prof. Dr. Dieter Schwampe 

d.schwampe@asd-law.com

Phone +49 40 31 77 970

Arnecke Sibeth Dabelstein Grosse Elbstrasse 36 22767 Hamburg Germany

Wei Song 

wei.song@chubb.com

Chubb Insurance Co. Ltd. Shanghai China

Michael Truwert 

michael.truwert@lansforsakringar.se

Länsförsäkringar Sak AB SE-106 50 Stockholm Sweden