Navigation

Marine underwriters increasingly have to demonstrate their value to customers, management and shareholders and their risk management capability is critical. In some markets loss prevention is a well-developed mindset, whilst in others it is still developing. The effective use of data analytics, improved risk assessment, pricing and application of loss learnings to reduce or avoid loss are vital, but the likely behaviour of the assured needs to be first and foremost in underwriters minds.

The Loss Prevention Committee strives to promote this message to IUMI’s members, identifying new solutions, thinking and techniques. Its role is to challenge areas where old and trusted responses are met with a lack of impact. The Committee's objectives include raising awareness, informing debate, creating solutions and supporting IUMI and other industry stakeholders to make a real and positive impact.

Loss Prevention Committee

Show more

David C TaylorLoss Prevention Committee Chair 

david.c.taylor@uk.rsagroup.com

Phone +44 207 337 5593

RSA 20 Fenchurch Street London EC3M 3AU United Kingdom

John MiklusSecretary 

jmiklus@aimu.org

Phone +1 212 233 05 50

American Institute of Marine Underwriting 14 Wall Street, Suite 820 New York, N.Y. 10005 USA

Terje R. PaulsenVice Chair 

terje.paulsen@gard.no

Phone +47 55 17 40 85

Gard AS Skipsbyggerhallen Soheimsgaten 11 5058 Bergen Norway

Uwe-Peter SchiederVice Chair 

u.schieder@gdv.de

Phone +49 30 2020 5362

GDV Wilhelmstrasse 43/43G 10117 Berlin Germany

John G. L. Aston 

john.aston@braemar.com

Phone +44 20 8886 47 09

c/o Braemar Technical Services Ltd. (Incorporating the Salvage Association) Marlow House 1A Lloyd's Avenue London EC3N 3AA United Kingdom

Massimo Canepa 

studio@canepa-marine.it

Phone +39 010 59 59 776

FEMAS Studio Navale Canepa S.r.l. Via G. D Annunzio 2/88 16121 Genoa Italy

Frank CostaExecutive Committee Liaison 

FCosta@berkleyoffshore.com

Phone +1 212 618 1531

Berkely Offshore Underwriting Managers 10th Floor, 757 Third Avenue New York NY 10017 USA

Mariella Dauphinee 

mariella.dauphinee@intact.net

Phone +1 6048915400-20295

Intact Insurance Company 1100-999 West Hasting Street V6C 2W2 Vancouver, BC Canada

Pascal Dubois 

Pascal_Dubois@swissre.com

Swiss Re Corporate Solutions 2-4 rue Pillet Will 75009 Paris France

Mohamed Hasan Farghaly 

mohamed_hasan@sci-egypt.com

Phone +2 02 37 62 02 99

Suez Canal Insurance Co. 31, Mohamed Kamel Morsi St. Mohandesseen, Giza Egypt

Makoto Iida 

makoto.iida@ms-ins.com

Phone +81 3 3259 3278

Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Co., Ltd 3-11-1, Kanda Surugadai Chiyodaku Tokyo, 101-8011 Japan

Jens JaegerPolitical Forum Liaison 

j.jaeger@gdv.de

Phone +49 30 2020 5346

German Insurance Association (GDV) Wilhelmstrasse 43 / 43G 10117 Berlin Germany

Chen Jianfeng 

chenjianfeng@cpic.com.cn

Phone +86 21 3396 2750

China Pacific Property Insurance Co., Ltd 17F, 190 Middle Yin Cheng Road Shanghei, 200120 China

Nicola Linguerri 

nicola_linguerri@swissre.com

Phone +41 43 285 69 25

Swiss Re Corporate Solutions Mythenquai 50/60 P.O.Box 4288 8022 Zurich Switzerland

Riccardo Morgante 

riccardo.morgante@generali.com

Phone +39 041 549 2278

Assicurazioni Generali Via Marocchesa, 14 31021 Mogliano Veneto (TV) Italy

Raymond Ng 

raymond.ng@starrcompanies.com

Phone +852 37655321

Starr International Insurance (Asia) Ltd Unit 1901, 19/F Central Plaza 18 Harbour Road Wanchai Hong Kong

Jacques Petit 

jacques.petit@aig.com

Phone +32 2 739 90 18

AIG Pleinlaan 11, Boulevard de la Plaine B-1050 Brussels Belgium

Barry Tarnef 

btarnef@chubb.com

Phone +1 215 982 8526

Chubb Marine Underwriters Chubb Group of Insurance Companies Four Penn Center, 1600 JFK Boulevard Philadelphia, PA 19103 USA